Sustainable Water Fund (FDW) is a Public-Private Partnership facility which aims to finance projects in the area of water safety and water security.

The projects should alleviate poverty, help sustainable economic growth and self-reliance. FDW is a facility of the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs / Development Cooperation.

Collective initiatives between governmental bodies, industry and Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) or knowledge institutions that focus on the following sub-themes could be eligible for subsidies from FDW:

  • Improved access to drinking water and sanitation.
  • Efficient and sustainable water use, particularly within agriculture.
  • Safe deltas and improved basin management.

Cooperation criteria
The requesting partnerships comprise at least one public body and one business. Participation by an NGO is mandatory. Involvement of a knowledge institution is not a condition but will be assessed on the basis of the proposal. At least one of the parties is from The Netherlands and one party is from the country in which the activity is being set up. One party will apply for the subsidy on behalf of the partnership. The secretarial role can be taken on by both Dutch and foreign parties.

Subsidies for supplementing financial commitments
The Sustainable Water Fund will contribute up to 60% of the total eligible project costs, while “safe deltas and improved basin management’ could get up to 70% financing. The subsidy application will total least EUR 500,000 and a maximum of EUR 4 million (excluding own contribution) over a maximum duration of 7 years.

The available budget for 2014 will be € 30 million.

Eligible countries

Algeria, Angola, Benin*, Burkina Faso, Burundi*, Cape Verde, Djibouti, DR Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia*, Gambia, Ghana*, Kenya*, Libia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali*, Morocco, Mozambique*, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda*, Sao Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda*, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Asia and the Middle East
Afghanistan*, Bangladesh*, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia*, Jordania, Laos, Mongolia, Mongolia, Maymar, Nepal, Pakistan, The Palestinian Territories, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Yemen*, Vietnam

Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova

Latin America
Bolivia, Colombia, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Peru, Suriname

Countries marked * are partner countries. Proposals for these countries will be ascribed extra points during evaluation

Application period
The call for the Sustainable Water Fund (FDW) opened on March 5th 2014 and closes on June 30th 2014 15:00 hours CET.

Contact us for detailed information about this facility.